Critics Choice Movie Awards

Tonight was the 18th Annual People’s Critics Choice Movie Awards in Santa Monica California. Every nominee is extremely talented and well-deserving of the award in their category, but there can only be one winner. I would also like to become a critic because getting to watch movies for a living has to be one of the best jobs in existence.

I will never get tired of talking about Jennifer Lawrence, ever. The thing I love most about Jennifer is how completely humble she is when accepting an award. And when she loses she’s genuinely happy for the winner because she’s just grateful to be nominated. Tonight she racked in Best Actress in an Action Movie for her role as Katniss Everdeen in The Hunger Games, Best Actress in a Comedy for her her role as Tiffany Maxwell in Silver Linings Playbook, Best Comedy for Silver Linings Playbook and Best Acting Ensemble for Silver Linings Playbook. Not too shabby! Jennifer was also nominated for Best Actress which went to Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty) and Best Picture which went to Argo. Never underestimate this lately, she’s quickly taking the film industry by storm at the young age of 22. I would also like to congratulate Jennifer on her second Oscar nomination which was announced this morning.

“Critics aren’t so bad.” – Jennifer Lawrence


No one was more deserving of Best Supporting Actress then Anne Hathaway for her role as Fantine in Les Miserables. If you’ve seen the movie it’d be hard for you to disagree. Her rendition of I Dreamed A Dream has the ability to put you in tears. I remember the first time I ever heard her sing, it was in the movie Ella Enchanted and I didn’t think it was actually her. There was a tiny mistake tonight when announcing the nominee’s they spelt her name as Ann Hathaway instead of Anne, missing the e. As she walked on stage to accept her award she pointed it out while mentioning that she probably shouldn’t.

This is a bittersweet moment because I have this award but you spelled my name wrong.” – Anne Hathaway

I’m really happy for Ben Affleck on his award for Best Director after being snubbed for an Oscar nomination. Ben is so well rounded in this industry as an actor, director, writer and producer. He can do it all and he does it right. His speech tonight had to have been one of the biggest highlights as he actually called out the Academy on their clear mistake.

“I would like to thank the Academy — I’m kidding, I’m kidding this is the one that counts.” – Ben Affleck

Quvenzhane Wallis is absolutely adorable. Tonight she won Best Young Actor/Actress for her role as Hushpuppy in Beasts of the Southern Wild. She also becomes the youngest actress in history to receive and Oscar Award nomination at 9. Quvenzhane walked on stage tonight with her thank you speech typed out on a phone (not sure if it was hers or not). The microphone stood taller then her but she was so cute. I wanted to give her a hug. I have yet to see the movie she stars in but I definitely plan to now.

The movie Lincoln also won a fair amount of awards tonight. I’m sure the acting’s great but I have no interest in ever seeing that movie. It looks like a bore and I feel as though I’d fall asleep in the theatre. We’ll have to see if i’m proved wrong. I have don’t have very long to catch up on all the Oscar nominated films.

Congratulations to all of the winners tonight! Only two more nights until the Golden Globes on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

