The House At The End of The Street: Movie Review


Jennifer Lawrence plays a 17 year old girl named Elissa who with her mother (Elisabeth Shue) moves into a new town where they find themselves living next door to a house where a young girl named Carrie Ann (Eva Link) murdered both of her parents. The surviving son Ryan (Max Thieriot) continues to live in the house and when Elissa decides to befriend him it’s not long before you learn that the story is far from over.

The movie is more of a thriller then a horror film in my opinion. There are many unexpected twists and turns that leave you on the tip of your toes until the very end and then do you finally begin to realize everything that unfolded as the credits roll on screen. Jennifer Lawrence definitely makes this movie, I don’t know if I would’ve liked it if it were another actor playing the part. Then again I probably wouldn’t even set foot into the theatre if it hadn’t been for her. Max catches your heart. His character seems so heartbreakingly broken that you can’t help but feel for him.

In the beginning you’ll find the movie draaaaaaaaaaaaaaaags on. But after you get past the scenes that may seem pointless it gets intense. I originally worried that the movie wouldn’t be very good since there were no advance screenings open to the public and it took a while to hit theatres (it was filmed in Ottawa, Ontario back in 2010 before The Hunger Games). It was released at a time where they so obviously were working off of Jennifer’s newly found popularity. The movie was much better then I expected. I loved it! I hope you choose to go see it yourselves.

I do have to say that I found myself slighty freaked out walking into my dark house alone afterwards…

The House At The End of The Street hit theatres today; September 21st, 2012.

Trailer:

Leave a Reply

