On The Road: Movie Review

Two nights ago I had the opportunity to be at movie premiere of On The Road at TIFF. As mentioned in my previous post on this event I stood around the red carpet for as long as I could snapping shots before I had to head inside for the show. I will be posting pictures of the cast at the end of this post except of Kristen Stewart for photos of  her please go here.

I went into this movie knowing nothing about it besides the fact that Kristen Stewart was in it. I had no idea it was a book, I had never seen the trailer and I had no idea what to expect whatsoever.

On the Road is a 2012 film adaptation of the Jack Kerouac cult classic novel of the same name. It is a Brazilian-French-UK-US co-production, directed by Walter Salles and starring Sam Riley as Sal Paradise and Garrett Hedlund as Dean Moriarty.” Sal, a writer, has found himself suffering from writer’s block and is unable to write anything he believes worthy of an author. Everything starts to change when he meets Dean who introduces Sal to a life full of women, sex and drugs. The two embark on a journey with Mary Lou (Dean’s ex-wife played by Kristen Stewart) and meet various people and experience many new things while on the road. Hence the title of the book/movie.

I’m not going to lie, for me I felt like the movie was a little too long. There were two parts where I thought it was ending cause the screen was black but then another scene appeared. And another. And another. It dragged on. Maybe because it was really late or maybe because I wasn’t all that interested. This isn’t me hating on the book or movie. I think the acting was absolutely phenomenal but and that the book is very well written but it’s not the sort of movie I would normally go to. You’d probably read something entirely different from a fan.

Source

Leave a Reply

