For You I’ll be an Athletic Girl

This poem is closely modeled after “The Genius” by Leonard Cohen:

For you
I will be an athletic girl
and compete
and wear a jersey
over my bruised body
and ripped skin
down the field

For you
I will be a depressed girl
and wear my hair long
covering my face
wherever I go
and the pain is hidden
behind that fake smile

For you
I will be a girly girl
and wear dresses
with sparkly flowers
that sprinkle stardust

For you
I will be a chatty girl
and rant uncontrollably
like Lorelai Gilmore
speaking my mind
and I’ll go on forever

For you
I will be a popular girl
and have
the highest marks
and the most
friends out of everyone

For you
I will be a tomboy girl
and lay in the mud
covering my bruised body
embracing the dirt
I’ve come to love

Leave a Reply

