Travel

“Oh, the Place’s You’ll Go!” – Dr. Seuss

You can look at pictures all you want but it comes to the point where you must experience it yourself. A photograph of the Grand Canyon is not the same as standing in the dirt looking out at what is said to be one of the seven natural wonders of the world. A new adventure reveals itself after every single step in an unfamiliar place. There’s an entire world out there that’s waiting to be explored.

A traveller lets go of everything, not wanting to miss out on a moment. Willing to indulge in a country’s culture, entertainment and anything else the trip may entail. From personal experience i’ve learned to try everything from eating Reindeer in Alaska to going on the biggest zip-line over a body of water in Labadee. I may not have liked it all but it was definitely worth it.

I don’t like staying in one place. It makes me claustrophobic. I much rather be back-packing across Europe than staying home whenever I have time off from school. I’ve dreamed of seeing the Leaning Tower of Pisa and going to Taiwan where my cousins are originally from. I want to feel the rush of adrenaline I felt when I went cliff jumping for the first time in Ottawa. I want to experience life to the fullest and always dare myself to be pushed beyond my limits.

Humans have to keep moving, they can’t stay in one place for too long. Kind of like how the Natives followed Buffalo as they moved since it was their main source of food. Some tribes engaged in agriculture but it was the protein that they needed for survival. People travel to different countries to try all types of cuisine. Trust me when I say that the Chinese food you get in China Town is nothing like authentic Chinese food. I’m talking about eating fish eyes and squidballs dipped in salt.

Food isn’t the only reason to explore new places. People travel all around the world to get the most out of life. Whether it’s white water rafting, skydiving, bungee jumping, canyon swinging or parasailing. Memories are created that will last forever. There’s a feeling inside your heart that will never disappear. There’s the images in your mind that can never be erased. Moments. They may be small and short but travelling is the road that must be taken in order to find yourself.

One thought on “Travel

  1. I completely agree with you. Travel certainly is a way of discovering one’s self and growing as a person. Pictures and books are no substitute for experiencing to the real thing. I like the way you set this up but I wish there was more. For me, you got into the meat of the discussion and then concluded. I guess I just wanted to read a little more. Good work anyways 🙂

Leave a Reply

