Hunger Games Movie Premiere

As you may or may not know today was the Canadian Hunger Games premiere in Toronto. It was a long day full of press and promo for the three actors from the film who were in town; Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth and Alexander Ludwig.

In the not-too-distant future North American is now known as Panem and ruled by the Capitol which has divided the country into 12 districts. Every year two young representatives (tributes), one male and one female anywhere from age 12-18 are picked to represent their District in the annual Hunger Games; a fight to the death. If you haven’t read the trilogy or even the Hunger Games you don’t need to for an understanding of the movie but I do urge you to go and read it because it’s a great read. You’re missing out if you don’t but that’s your loss not mine.

My day started at 6:00am when I woke up. My best friend slept over and we quickly got ready and headed to the subway. We were arrived in downtown Toronto by 7:30 and made our way over to the parking lot near Much Music. The Hunger Games cast was supposed to be on the Marilyn Denis show from 10:00am – 11:00am so we decided we’d try to get standby tickets if available. Turns out they’re not. However, the security guard inside let us know that if we walked around the back we could get a number for being outside of New Music Live later at 4:15pm. So of course we did and it meant we didn’t have to stand in line as long as we returned by 1:00pm. Watch Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth and Alexander Ludwig on the Marilyn Denis show herepart2 & part3.

We then decided to go back to our spot by the parking lot where we were earlier told by security that we’d see nothing (they lied). A car pulled in and Alexander Ludwig got out of the car. From where we waited I decided to scream his name. He turned his head and waved to where me and my 3 friends stood. We asked him to come over and he promised to later, he had his interview on CP24. Meanwhile we were showed on CP24 where they said to Alex “We’ve had fans outside since first thing this morning for you do you know that?” and he replied saying “Actually yeah I saw this morning, it was really sweet. It was very flattering.” (Insert squeal here!)

As we waited around for him to come out security told us we weren’t allowed to stand there anymore. I then told him how Alex promised to come over to us and he simply replied with “If he wants to find you he will.” Wtf? Are you serious? As we were walking away Alexander started to chase us down. We noticed him and went over to where he was. He came up to us, held out his hand and said “Hi, I’m Alex.” (Like we didn’t already know but he’s adorable so it’s okay.) We talked to him for a while, he is one of the sweetest celebrities I have ever met (and he’s Canadian so that’s a plus). We got pictures with him before he headed inside.

Not too long after two more black cars pulled into the parking lot and guess who was inside? That’s right, Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth!

The stage was being set up for New Music Live and we went to check it out. Alexander was around the corner peeking over where a ton of fans were but none noticed him except for us. He was with his publicist and walked over to Starbucks so of course we followed being the creeps we are.

In Starbucks we bought drinks and food so we wouldn’t be as obvious, even though i’m positive we were. Alexander looked over at me and said “Hey again!” and then we talked for a little and he asked us if were were going to Much Music later which we were, obviously.

We walked over to the Scotiabank Theatre where the premiere was going to be held starting at 6:30pm. They were just putting up posters on the wall at the time.

And then there was a lot of waiting… we went back into line for New Music Live and after a lot more waiting FINALLY we got to see Josh, Liam and Alex close up and personal. At one point I held out my book to Josh and asked him to sign it and he looked at me which is adorable sad eyes and said “Sorry, I can’t.” So then I said “I love you!” and he replied saying “Thanks!” My heart melted and I almost passed out. After that segment at the commercial Josh walked right over to me, signed my book and then walked back inside. At that point I was the only one to get an autograph from him and I was over the moon. I was on the verge of tears (okay fine I was crying.) When Alex came out he spotted me in the front row and smiled and waved and it made me really happy. Besides almost dying from being squished up against the barrier it was an amazing day! You can watch their interview on NML here.

(You may recognize this photograph from Conan O’Brien)

And last but not least a picture of the venue that the Toronto premiere actually took place at. My friends at this point wanted to leave and wouldn’t stay with me any longer so I had no choice but to leave as well. It was really frustrating after I hadn’t ate one thing all day and looked forward to this for the past months. It was a downer and seemed like I had given up on getting my picture with Josh when I wanted to keep on going. Sometimes friends CAN suck.

Leave a Reply

